Buy & Sell
Sports - Foot ball
The FIFA World Cup is known as the World Cup foot ball and also known as Football World Cup or Soccer World Cup. It is the most popular competition in international football and no other sporting event captures the world's attention like the FIFA World Cup.

The championship has been contested once in every four years since the first tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 due to World War II.

A group of visionary French football administrators, led in the 1920s by the innovative Jules Rimet, are credited with the original idea of bringing the world's strongest national football teams together to compete for the title of World Champions. The original gold trophy was in the name of Jules Rimet's . From 1930 to 1970, the Jules Rimet Trophy was awarded to the Cup winner. It is more of an ongoing event as the qualifying rounds of the competition take place over the three years preceding the final rounds.

Year wise hosts of world cup
• Uruguay 1930
• Italy 1934
• France 1938
• Brazil 1950
• Switzerland 1954
• Sweden 1958
• Chile 1962
• England 1966
• Mexico 1970
• Germany 1974
• Argentina 1978
• Spain 1982
• Mexico 1986
• Italy 1990
• United States 1994
• France 1998
• Korea & Japan 2002
• Germany 2006.
• South Africa 2010

Since 1930, the 16 tournaments have seen only seven different winners. However, the FIFA World Cup has also been punctuated by dramatic upsets that have helped create football wave history - the United States defeating England in 1950, North Korea's defeat of Italy in 1966, Cameroon's emergence in the 1980s and their opening match defeat of the Argentinean cup-holders in 1990.

After 1970, a new trophy, known as the FIFA World Cup Trophy, was designed.

Custom Search
eXTReMe Tracker
Copyright © 2007 worldescandotcom All rights reserved.
Disclaimer / Terms of use
Site Map | Contact Us